A Simple Favor

A Simple FavorA Simple Favour by Darcey Bell
on March 21, 2017
Pages: 371
Goodreads
three-stars

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

Hey!

I’m back once again with yet another book review. It might actually surprise you to know that I actually finished this book a few weeks ago according to my Goodreads nearly two weeks ago, but never got around to writing the review. I’ve been struggling writing reviews and doing things lately, but perhaps I’ll save that for another post.

Today’s post will be a review on Darcy Bell’s A Simple Favor. The book was recently turned into a movie that stars Anna Kendrick and Blake Lively. I still haven’t seen it in theater, which it is now probably out of theaters since it has been a few minutes. I’m sure that if you give it 6 months you can catch it on Redbox or something.

As always I promise not to spoil the ending of the book for you, but I will say that the book takes some pretty interesting twists and turns as you start to read Emily’s section of the book. Overall though I will admit that I found the book rather slow in the beginning and nearly put it down , but thankfully or unthankfully I flipped to a different section to read ahead to see if it got better and it did. I wasn’t impressed by any of the writing of the book and though I liked it and found the first part slow. I probably won’t end up reading it again and would recommend that you borrow it from the library rather than own it.

Let me know what you have been reading lately. Have you read this book? Did you see the movie? Let me know your thoughts.

I’ll be back soon in another post.

three-stars

Leave a Reply