Superman:DawnbreakerSuperman: Dawnbreaker by Matt de la Pena
Published by Random House Children's Books on March 5, 2019
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Superheroes, Action & Adventure, General, Social Themes, Emigration & Immigration
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Buy on Amazon

The blockbuster DC Icons series that began with Leigh Bardugo's Wonder Woman, Marie Lu's Batman, and Sarah J. Maas's Catwoman continues with the story of the world's first super hero--SUPERMAN--from award-winning and #1 New York Times bestselling author MATT DE LA PEÑA.
When the dawn breaks, a hero rises.
His power is beyond imagining.Clark Kent has always been faster, stronger--better--than everyone around him. But he wasn't raised to show off, and drawing attention to himself could be dangerous. Plus, it's not like he's earned his powers . . . yet.But power comes with a price.Lately it's difficult to hold back and keep his heroics in the shadows. When Clark follows the sound of a girl crying, he comes across Gloria Alvarez and discovers a dark secret lurking in Smallville. Turns out, Clark's not the only one hiding something. Teaming up with his best friend, Lana Lang, he throws himself into the pursuit of the truth. What evil lies below the surface of his small town? And what will it cost Clark to learn about his past as he steps into the light to become the future Man of Steel? Because before he can save the world, he must save Smallville.
Act fast! The first printing includes a poster of Clark Kent! Each first printing in the DC Icons series has a limited-edition poster--collect them all to create the full image!
Don't miss the rest of the DC Icons series! Read the books in any order you choose:  *  Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo  *  Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu  *  Catwoman: Soulstealer by Sarah J. Maas

I’m back with yet another book review. I’m excited that I finished all the current books in the DC Icons series. You can read my reviews of Wonderwoman, Batman, and Catwoman with the various links. There is rumors of a new book coming out later this year, but we’ll see it is 202 after all, haha!

In case you haven’t heard of the DC Icons series before it takes some big DC characters and has a story written by some YA authors. None of the stories are connected so you can read all of them or just one of them if you want. They are sold together in a set and also sold separately.

In the book, I just finished we walked through the life of Clark Kent AKA Superman just as he is discovering his powers and his place in the world. The book reads a bit like the beginning of Smallville (the show), but honestly I haven’t watched Smallville so I couldn’t properly tell you. You do get to meet Lana in the story, which is probably the only time other time I have heard her mentioned. You also have the introduction of Lex Luthor and Lois Lane into the story although neither are big characters in this story.

If you liked Superman as a character and wouldn’t mind reading another origin story or haven’t read a good origin story of Superman this is the book for you. If you are a huge fan of Smallville and know the origin story of Superman inside and out this may not be the book for you.

I hope to see you around here again for another post 🙂


Leave a Reply